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22     THE  SHOT  
22.2	
   No	
  bowl	
  must	
  be	
  moved	
  until	
  the	
  opponents	
  have	
  agreed	
  whether	
  it	
  is	
  a	
  shot	
  or	
  not,	
  except	
  	
  

where	
  a	
  bowl	
  has	
  to	
  be	
  moved	
  so	
  that	
  another	
  bowl	
  can	
  be	
  measured.	
   	
  
22.3	
   As	
  the	
  shots	
  are	
  agreed,	
  each	
  shot	
  bowl	
  can	
  be	
  removed	
  from	
  the	
  head.	
   	
  
22.4	
   Shot	
  bowls	
  can	
  be	
  placed	
  in	
  a	
  group	
  where	
  they	
  will	
  not	
  interfere	
  with	
  measuring.	
   	
  
22.5	
   If	
  shot	
  bowls	
  have	
  been	
  placed	
  in	
  a	
  group,	
  the	
  number	
  of	
  bowls	
  in	
  the	
  group	
  must	
   be	
  

agreed	
  by	
  the	
  opponents.	
     
	
  

  INTERPRETATION  
1.   If	
  a	
  player	
  moves	
  one	
  or	
  more	
  bowls	
  prior	
  to	
  the	
  opponent	
  agreeing	
  whether	
  they	
  shot	
  or	
  not,	
  

the	
  opponent	
  may	
  replace	
  the	
  bowl(s)	
  and	
  request	
  a	
  measurement	
  (if	
  necessary).	
  
2.   Elsewhere	
  in	
  the	
  rule	
  book,	
  it	
  is	
  stated	
  that	
  the	
  skip	
  should	
  decide	
  all	
  disputed	
  points	
  with	
  the	
  

opposing	
  skip	
  (40.1.2).	
  If	
  necessary,	
  the	
  skips	
  may	
  appeal	
  to	
  a	
  competent	
  neutral	
  person	
  
(40.1.5).	
  

	
  

HINT  
The	
  easiest	
  way	
  to	
  avoid	
  misunderstandings	
  is	
  to	
  follow	
  this	
  procedure:	
  
1.   If	
  you	
  have	
  lost	
  the	
  end,	
  you	
  (rather	
  than	
  your	
  opponent)	
  should	
  remove	
  your	
  opponent’s	
  shot	
  

bowls	
  from	
  the	
  head	
  (with	
  your	
  opponent’s	
  consent).	
  This	
  is	
  usually	
  a	
  safe	
  procedure	
  since	
  
your	
  opponent	
  is	
  unlikely	
  to	
  object	
  when	
  you	
  are	
  simply	
  acknowledging	
  that	
  his	
  or	
  her	
  bowls	
  
are	
  shot.	
  

2.   Begin	
  by	
  removing	
  the	
  first	
  shot	
  bowl	
  (with	
  your	
  opponent’s	
  consent)	
  and	
  continue	
  removing	
  
additional	
  shot	
  bowls	
  until	
  you	
  believe	
  that	
  all	
  shot	
  bowls	
  have	
  been	
  counted.	
  

3.   When	
  you	
  are	
  satisfied	
  that	
  all	
  shot	
  bowls	
  have	
  been	
  counted,	
  tell	
  your	
  opponent	
  what	
  you	
  
believe	
  the	
  score	
  to	
  be.	
  

4.   If	
  your	
  opponent	
  believes	
  that	
  he	
  or	
  she	
  has	
  additional	
  shot	
  bowls,	
  the	
  opponent	
  is	
  free	
  to	
  
measure.	
  

5.   There	
  is	
  little	
  need	
  for	
  extended	
  discussion.	
  If	
  you	
  can’t	
  decide	
  which	
  bowl	
  is	
  shot,	
  simply	
  
measure.	
  

6.   Good	
  communication	
  with	
  your	
  opponent	
  is	
  the	
  key.	
  


